The South Dakota State Orthopaedic Society is the recipient of the AAOS State Society of the Year Award. Black Hills Orthopedic & Spine Center's very own Dr. Stephen Eckrich, along with two other orthopedic surgeons, accepted the award on behalf of the SDSOS in Washington, D.C.

"The early and significant participation of South Dakota's orthopedic surgeons in the passage of Initiated Measure 17 on Patient Choice was a key factor in the Academy's selection for this award," says Dr. Eckrich. "I am proud of the effort of all of South Dakota's doctors, especially the orthopedic surgeons, in their successful campaign to preserve doctor-patient relationships, which are essential to the delivery of high-quality, cost-effective health care."

Dr. Eckrich also participated in a symposium at the AAOS conference, discussing the successful passage of IM 17, a measure that was approved by voters in November of last year, requiring health insurers to include all willing and qualified medical providers on their provider lists. 

Click here to read more on this article from the New York Business Journal.


-A +A